Rouart exposed in Nancy

The Rouart : a family of artists and collectors

The RouartAt the Museum of Fine Arts, around d’Henri Rouart (1833-1912), collector, friend of Edgar Degas, from Manet , Berthe Morisot and painter himself, There's the pictorial adventure of a family.

Already as a young, He shows talent for drawing and receives advice of COROT and MILLET. After brilliant studies at Louis the great, He joined Polytechnic. His prosperous career of industrialist allows it to build an important collection of works of art that invades his mansion street of Lisbon from 1860.

From 1883, He is also dedicated to painting and exhibited regularly with the Impressionists. His son Ernest (1874-1942) also between Polytechnique to take over the family business of the Rouart but he turned very quickly to the paint. Studious pupil of Degas, he learned by copying the masters and visiting the major museums of Europe.
He married Julie Manet, the only daughter of Berthe Morisot and niece of Édouard Manet.
The grandson of Henri, Augustin (1907-1997) develops with courage and tenacity, an artistic personality who own, far from the impressionism that reigns within the family Rouart, He paints what he sees at a time where triumph abstraction, it clings to a classical pathway, returning to the tradition and drawing. It will be close to Maurice Denis - a modern years 30- . 130 Works gathered exceptionally in Nancy to discover a century and a half of history: from Impressionism to magic realism
Learn more

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the Permalink.

Les Rouart exposés à Nancy

Les Rouart : une famille d’artistes et de collectionneurs

Les-RouartAu musée des Beaux Arts, autour d’Henri Rouart (1833-1912), collectionneur, ami d’Edgar Degas, de Manet , de Berthe Morisot et peintre lui-même, on découvre l’aventure picturale de toute une famille.

Tout jeune déjà, il se montre doué pour le dessin et reçoit des conseils de COROT et MILLET. Après de brillantes études à Louis le Grand, il intègre Polytechnique. Sa prospère carrière d’industriel lui permet de se constituer une importante collection d’œuvres d’art qui envahit son hôtel particulier rue de Lisbonne dès 1860.

A partir de 1883, il se consacre lui aussi à la peinture et expose régulièrement avec les impressionnistes. Son fils Ernest (1874-1942) entre aussi à Polytechnique pour reprendre l’entreprise familiale des Rouart mais il se tourne très rapidement vers la peinture. Elève studieux de Degas, il apprend en copiant les maitres et se rendant dans les plus grands musées d’Europe.
Il épousera Julie Manet, la fille unique de Berthe Morisot et nièce d’Edouard Manet.
Le petit-fils d’Henri, Augustin (1907-1997) développe avec courage et ténacité, une personnalité artistique qui lui est propre, loin des l’impressionnisme qui règne en maître au sein de la famille Rouart, il peint ce qu’il voit à une époque où triomphe l’abstraction, il s’accroche à une voie classique, revenant à la tradition et au dessin. Il sera proche de Maurice Denis -un moderne des années 30- .  130 œuvres sont rassemblées exceptionnellement à Nancy pour découvrir un siècle et demi d’histoire: de l’impressionnisme au réalisme magique
en savoir plus

Ce contenu a été publié dans actualité. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.