Majorelle home

majorell house

The end of the 19th century was one of the most important turning points in the history of Nancy with a phenomenal political and, social and economic. Nancy becomes an industrial and commercial capital in adapting to the significant influx of Alsatian and mosellanes people who refuse the German annexation.

Wealthy industrialists will be build, furnish and decorate houses modern and original in the Art Nouveau style of the time who will be the Ecole de Nancy whose considerable fame will quickly exceed the borders.

the commercial success of the Ecole de Nancy objects allow Louis Majorelle entrust wild Henri (1873-1932) the project of his villa in 1898.
The construction of the Majorelle House starts in 1902, It is immediately considered as one of the most significant achievements of the Ecole de Nancy , fruit of the collaboration between architect and industrialist of Art – meeting of the world of Creation and Production.

Its 4 facades are all different and each needs of light and the functions of the parts: the readability of the Interior plan is easy.
The lack of symmetry allows a freedom of style.
The floral theme dear to the Ecole de Nancy is present everywhere inside the outdoors.
Finally the Majorelle House is a fine example of a total and multidisciplinary Art that combines architecture (Henri Sauvage), furniture (Louis Majorette), stained glass windows (Jacques Gruber), ceramics (Henri Sauvage), sandstone (Alexandre Bigot) …

The Majorelle House is now the headquarters of the departmental Services of l’ Architecture and heritage, guided tours are possible on Saturdays and Sundays at 2:30 or 3: 45 p.m.. Reservation of tickets:

Booking at the museums Public Service 03 83 17 86 77 servicedespublics-museums @mairie - nancy.fr

Bidding continues in 2015 for jobs that restore the facades to their original appearance.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the Permalink.

La Maison Majorelle

maison majorell

La fin du 19e siècle fut un des tournants le plus importants de l’histoire de Nancy avec une croissance phénoménale sur les plans politique, social et économique. Nancy devient une capitale industrielle et commerciale en s’adaptant à l’afflux considérable des populations alsaciennes et mosellanes qui refusent l’annexion allemande.

Les riches industriels feront construire, meubler et décorer des maisons modernes et originales dans le style Art Nouveau de l’époque qui sera l’Ecole de Nancy dont la renommée considérable dépassera rapidement les frontières.

les succès commerciaux des objets de l’Ecole de Nancy permettent à Louis Majorelle de confier à Henri sauvage (1873-1932) le projet de sa villa en 1898.
La construction de la Maison Majorelle démarre en 1902, elle est d’emblée considérée comme une des réalisations les plus significatives de l’Ecole de Nancy , fruit de la collaboration entre un architecte et un industriel de l’Art – rencontre du Monde de la Création et de la Production.

Ses 4 façades sont toutes différentes et répondent chacune aux besoins de lumière et des fonctions des pièces: la lisibilité du plan intérieur est facile.
L’absence de symétrie permet une grande liberté de style.
Le thème floral cher à L’Ecole de Nancy est présent partout à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur.
Enfin la Maison Majorelle est un bel exemple d’un Art total et pluridisciplinaire qui conjugue architecture (Henri Sauvage), mobilier (Louis Majorette), vitraux (Jacques Gruber), céramiques (Henri Sauvage), grès (Alexandre Bigot) …

La Maison Majorelle est aujourd’hui le siège des Services Départementaux de l’ Architecture et du Patrimoine, les visites guidées sont possibles les samedis et dimanche à 14h30 ou 15h45. Réservation des tickets:

Réservation obligatoire au Service des Publics des musées 03 83 17 86 77 servicedespublics-musees @mairie-nancy.fr

Les appels d’offre continuent en 2015 pour les travaux qui redonneront aux façades leur aspect d’origine.

Ce contenu a été publié dans actualité, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.